African-American Literature · MEME · Wish List Wednesday

Wish List Wednesday

Here we go with another meme. Last week was all about book reviews and apparently this week is all about meme’s. Maybe I can find a new meme for Thursday. Anyway I digress here we go.

It’s Wish List Wednesday! What’s that you ask? Well

Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop where we will post about one book per week
that has been on our wishlist for some time, or just added (it’s entirely up to
you), that we can’t wait to get off the wishlist and onto our wonderful shelves.

So what do you need to do to join in?

  • Follow Pen to Paper as host of the meme.
  • Please consider adding the blog hop button to your blog somewhere, so others can find it easily and join in too! Help spread the word! The code will be at the bottom of the post under the linky.
  • Pick a book from your wishlist that you are dying to get to put on your shelves.
  • Do a post telling your readers about the book and why it’s on your wishlist.
  • Add your blog to the linky at the bottom of this post.
  • Put a link back to pen to paper (http://www.pentopaperblog.com) somewhere in your post, and a note saying that Pen to Paper is the host of the meme.
  • Visit the other blogs and enjoy!

This week I have 2 books on my wishlist.

Black Girl In Paris By Shay Youngblood

I found this book thanks to Clutch Magazines 100 black woman authors list.  Click here to check it out there are some truly amazing books and authors on this list.  The fact that this book is on the list pretty much guarantees that it will be pretty good.

paris

Published January 1st 2001 by Riverhead Trade

Paperback-256 pages

The very first thing that caught my attention was the title. I really love Paris so when I see anything about it I am automatically drawn to it. Once I looked up the book and saw the cover I was even more intrigued.  This is such and interesting cover I see something new every time I look at it.

Black Girl in Paris wends its way around the mythology or Paris as a city that has called out to African-American artists. Like James Baldwin, Langston Hughes, and Josephine Baker before her, Youngblood’s heroine leaves her home, in the American South, nurturing a dream of finding artistic emancipation in the City of Light. She experiments freely, inhabiting different incarnations – artist’s model, poet’s helper, au pair, teacher, thief, and lover – to keep body and soul together, to stay afloat, heal the wounds of her broken heart, discover her sexual self, and, finally, to wrestle her dreams of becoming a writer into reality. (Synopsis from Amazon.) I usually get the synopsis from goodreads but they had a really terrible one so I used Amazon.  

I though about borrowing this from my library but they don’t have it. Then I thought about maybe getting the kindle edition but I decided I need that cover sitting on my shelves.The book sounds so free and in my wildest dreams I want to run off to Paris and just live a different life. Maybe I can live vicariously through the woman in this book.

Up Next

Montaro Caine: A Novel

By Sidney Poitier

15799370

Published January 1st 2013 By Spiegel & Grau

Hardcover-320 pages

Yes THAT Sidney Poitier. Yes the one from Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner. Yes the one from In the Heat of the Night and, the one who has an academy award. I found out about this book just a few months ago and I knew I needed to have it. I love Sidney Poitier so much as an actor but also as a human. This man has such class and is so suave. I knew he had non-fiction books that I have always intended to read but, this just sounds so interesting so it’s up first. It’s a book I would probably pick up no matter who had written it just based off of the synopsis

When a coin is found in a baby’s hand, the doctor who finds it sends it up to a lab at MIT, where Montaro Caine, a student, does a work-up on it and discovers it to be made of materials not known on Earth. Caine never learns the owner’s identity, but two decades later, as Caine, now CEO of Fitzer Corp in New York City, is facing the possibility of a hostile corporate takeover and experiencing family troubles, a man and woman appear in his office bearing the coin. The find sets off a battle of intrigue and suspense, as scientists, collectors, and financiers all vie to get their hands on it. But the coin, and a second coin that appears, is of more value than mere monetary worth. In this ambitious, page-turning novel, the beloved actor Sidney Poitier takes us from New York to Europe to the Caribbean in an exploration of race, faith, and, beyond all else, the meaning of our lives on earth (Synopsis from goodreads)

So those are my picks for Wish List Wednesday. I hope to have these books in the next month or so. What’s on your wishlist this week?

Until Next Time

7 thoughts on “Wish List Wednesday

  1. Black Girl in Paris sounds like something I’d want to read — and that cover is awesome! Nice choices. (By the way, I host a Thursday meme… and also have a meme directory, if you want to check it out!)

    Like

Leave a comment