African-American Literature · Book Beginnings · MEME

Book Beginnings

While I was writing my last blog I realized that I had done 3 meme’s for the week and I said maybe I should do some more just for fun. Lisa from Bookshelf Fantasies left a post with her blog meme directory to take a look at. I looked through that directory and found a new Friday meme to try out.

The meme is called Book Beginnings and it’s hosted by Rose City Reader

Every Friday we share the first sentence (or so) of the books we are reading, along with initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

This week I am reading several books so I just grabbed the one closest to me to share and that is

11346
Click book cover for goodreads

In that place, where they tore the nightshade and black-berry patches from their roots to make room for the Medallion City Golf Course, there was once a neighborhood. It stood in the hills above the valley town of Medallion and spread all the way to the river. It is called suburbs now, but when back people lived there it was called the Bottom.

This is my first Toni Morrison book, I own three of her books but I have put off reading them for quite some time. The truth is I am afraid of Morrison’s books, afraid that they will overwhelm me . Just these first few sentences let you know that this is going to be a book that is emotional, and Morrison often writes about race and gender issues.  I think you need to expect that when you go into one of her books. Because she tends to speak about topics that are often hard to confront she elicits strong reactions good, and bad. From what I have read about her work the content is never easy to get through and she is not afraid to get down and dirty. I think she makes life changing books so I guess I am ready to get on with the life changing already.

So that folks is my first attempt at Book Beginnings on Friday. Thanks for stopping by and let me know if you have read Sula or any Toni Morrison and what you thought.

Until Next Time

9 thoughts on “Book Beginnings

  1. Welcome to Book Beginnings! Thanks for finding us and playing along!

    I have mixed feelings about Toni Morrison. That beginning is terrific and I generally like her writing and her stories. But I’m not a big magical realism fan, and so many of her books head off in that direction.

    Like

    1. Thank you I’m glad I found Book Beginnings! I am actually not that fond of magical realism myself which I guess is another reason I’ve held off. I don’t believe Sula does that so it should be a good place to start. Thanks for taking the time to stop by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

