Uncategorized

A Fresh Start.

Oh man it’s been quite a tumultuous couple of years for me. I opened a business, family members went in and out of the hospital, finances were sketchy, I decided to get a business degree. And, perhaps one of the most stressful things was 2 sick cats. I know! But really I thought 1 cat was gonna die and I nearly lost it. I’ve had that cat for 17 years I was devastated. Good news is all the cats are fine now.  Somewhere in all of this I stopped blogging. It was something I just didn’t keep up with. Part of it was that I wasn’t reading as much and seeing as how this is a book blog.. Well… I want to change that starting now. What better time, all these new book challenges to get excited about. I decided to go all in and start myself a YouTube channel as well. It’s actually really scary for me to chat on camera. I’ve actually hated being on camera and in photos most of my life, so this is a leap for me. The reason for the channel is that sometimes I just can’t get my thoughts out in blog form. I want to say so much more and I just can’t articulate it the way I would like to. Thus a YouTube channel. Occasionally I will cover the same topics on the blog and the channel, sometimes I wont. There are just some things that lend themselves to print and others to the visual. Aside from covering different books I want to include some other cultural (pop and other) type things. Movies, music, current events etc..  Often those things just tie right in with books anyway so it shouldn’t be difficult.

So this is just my hi I’m back to talk about the books post. I am currently curating (so fancy) a list of bookish challenges I may possibly participate in, in 2016. I don’t like to set many hard and fast rules for myself but these challenges can be fun.  Hopefully you had a great year of reading and are planning a great year to come.

I’ll be back soon to talk about my favorite reads of the year and some not so favorite ones as well. I’m also working on  a post with the challenges I’ll be trying out this year.

My channel should be up and running by the middle of the week assuming all goes according to plan. Please stop by and say hi if you’re so inclined.  It’s On Page 47

Reading Right Now

The Sisters Are Alright: Changing the Broken Narrative of Black Women in America by Tamra Winfrey Harris

A Million Suns (Across the Universe, #2) by Beth Revis on audio-book

 Rooftops of Tehran by Mahdob Seraji

Leave a comment