Austen In August

It’s A Case Of Wanting To Love It More Than I Did

AIAmockup1-002

 

Well I just finished Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen and well I didn’t love it *covers eyes and squirms*. I know I know it’s Austen in August and I shouldn’t be throwing out some non-Jane love but I can’t help it.  I really, really wanted to L.O.V.E this book like really. Let me just lay down some of my Jane Austen story so you can see why. When I was around 15 I was having a really tough time.. My father had just left us and was showing signs of the mental illness we don’t even really have a grasp on now 16 years later. My mom was working 2 jobs and going to school and dealing with breast cancer.  Money was scarce and school was not going so well either.  One weekend a good friend of my moms invited me, my mom and my sister over for dinner and a movie. I can’t remember what we had for dinner but the movie was the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice. Now I believe that I would have loved it no matter what but, the timing of it was such that I fell head over hills in love with it.  I escaped into this world and it just took me away to Regency England for a while. My moms friend sent us home with a copy of it on VHS! I wore those tapes out literally the tape was worn out from me watching and rewinding so often.  It would be years before I would actually read any Austen books but I would go on to watch a bunch of adaptations. When I finally read P&P I loved it just as much as the movie and I quickly followed it up with Sense and Sensibility which I loved too.  So going into Northanger Abbey I wanted that feeling I had when I first met P&P but alas it was not to be. Perhaps my expectations were way too high? I don’t know exactly what happened but I could never get into it. I actually started the book months ago I believe in April,after a few chapters I put it down and didn’t pick it up again for a while. I went through this pick up put down thing until I decided to listen to the audiobook. I think the audio version really helped mostly because I loved the voice of the reader.  I would listen to some when I could and then read a little and then back to the audiobook.  Maybe my problem was Catherine I just didn’t connect with her and I found her to be very naive which got annoying. I know she only 17 but and kind of sheltered but it was something that I couldn’t get past.  Also there weren’t any couples to really fall in love with which is kind of a thing I look for in Austen’s work. Over all I liked but did not love the book I just couldn’t get engaged.  Next up Mansfield Park which I hear is almost always the least favorite of her works . i am however attempting to read along with The Book Rat so maybe this will help me get through it.  I plan to start by reading the physical book but I also have it on audio just in case. Well wish me luck and I will be back with some more Jane Austeny goodness soon.  Also head over to Misty at The Book Rat for some more Awesome Austen in August love.

Until Next Time

Leave a comment