MEME · top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesdayWhat is Top Ten Tuesday you ask? Well it’s this fun meme where we are given a bookish topic and then create a top ten list to go with it.  Go check out the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish because they created it.

So this weeks theme is Top Ten Favorite Books With X Setting

I didn’t have 10 books in one place so I chose a couple places

First Up

United Kingdom

10. A Vintage Affair by Isabel Wolff

This book takes place in a couple different places and one of them is France but, the modern day stuff is London so it counts. However, my favorite part of the book was the little vintage clothing store in London. It’s really a sweet touching lovely story.

9. Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

I saw this movie first and so when I read the book I was so confused. I thought maybe I had gotten my movies crossed. Anyway I really loved that the book was in London instead of New York.

8. The Hamish Macbeth Series by M.C. Beaton

This series takes place in Scotland and it’s all fog and highlands and sexy accents sounds dreamy. In reality it’s probably just a pain in the butt to drive through all that fog!

7.  The Agatha Raisin series by M.C Beaton

This takes place in the cozy village in the Cotswold’s and all the houses have sweet names, and everyone goes to baking contests and village dances it’s all so quaint! I think I will name my house Lavender Meadows!

Canada

6. Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery

This is where my love for Canada began. The idea of Prince Edward Island was so romantic to me. I have to visit at least once in my life!

5. The Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny

This is yet another small sweet village except for al the murder of course.  I really love everything about this series especially it’s setting.

The American South

OK I have MAJOR issues with the south in a historical/racial context but for some reason I like to read books set there! Go figure

4. The Cutting Season by Attica Locke

This was set specifically in New Orleans which I really love.

3. Kindred by Octavia Butler

This actually takes place in 1800’s south so you know issues but, it was such a good book!

2. The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Um it’s The Color Purple do I need to say anything?

1. The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel wilkerson

This is actually a non-fiction account of 3 people who left the south during the great migration. I mention it even though it’s not set in the south the entire time because it’s so amazing.  If you are at all interested in American history read it. If you have no idea what the great migration is read it!

 

 

Until Next Time

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    1. I love when I run across a top ten of books I’ve never read. Gives me so many awesome books that I would never have otherwise run across!

      Like

Leave a comment