book review

Mini Reviews: Th House on Mango Street & Devil in a Blue Dress

I decided to combine my reviews of these books because I don’t have much to say about them. While I like both books I don’t think either warrant a solo review.  First up

139253

The House On Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

Published By Vintage (April 3, 1991)

Originally Published By Arte Publico Press 1984

110 pages

I’ve heard of this book over the years but I can’t say I ever really knew anything about it. When I came across it at a used book store I decided to give it a try.  Centered around the life of a young Latina girl named Esperanza growing up in Chicago, the story is told in the form of vignettes. The way it’s written is poetic at times and the vignettes lend themselves perfectly to that style. The vignettes felt very much like they came from the perspective of a child which I really liked. I think back to big moments from my childhood and they unfold sort of like this book. If I were to write down some of those memories I think they would come out in vignette form and be some what disconnected. Esperanza seems to struggle with being from the house on Mango street, and what that makes her, or doesn’t make her. I felt a small connection to the idea of not wanting to be a part of the place you grew up. I come from a very poor neighborhood, the “bad” part of town, and I’ve fought that label since I was a kid. It use to make me happy when people would say they couldn’t believe that’s where I grew up. Like I was better than that place and they could tell. All I’ve ever wanted was to move away from it and all the baggage it brings. As an adult I’ve had to unpack all that baggage which is a thing I’m not sure I’ll ever be done with. All in all I like this book and I think I would enjoy other books from Cisneros.

3 out of 5 stars

37100

Devil in a Blue( Easy Rawlins #1) Dress by Walter Mosley

Published by W. W. Norton; 1st edition (June 17, 1990) Hardcover

Washington Square Press (June 22, 2010) Kindle Edition

228 pages

Los Angeles, 1948: Easy Rawlins is a black war veteran just fired from his job at a defense plant. Easy is drinking in a friend’s bar, wondering how he’ll meet his mortgage, when a white man in a linen suit walks in, offering good money if Easy will simply locate Miss Daphne Money, a blonde beauty known to frequent black jazz clubs….(synopsis from goodreads)

I have wanted to read Devil for a long time I just don’t know why I never got around to it till now. I saw the movie with Denzel Washington years ago although I don’t think I saw all of it. I never felt fully engaged in this book and I’m not sure why. It had everything I would want, a black detective, jazz clubs, missing people, danger, and a murder mystery. I did like Easy as the protagonist and the crazy cast of characters that he is entangled with. I liked the story it just never gave me the suspense  I was expecting or wanting. I will probably pick up the next one in the series the synopsis sounds really good so, I’m hoping to like it more than this one.

3 out of 5 stars on

Until Next Time

One thought on “Mini Reviews: Th House on Mango Street & Devil in a Blue Dress

Leave a Reply

