top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

toptentuesday

Every week they post a topic and we make a top ten list to go with it.

This weeks topic is
Top Ten 2014 Debuts I’m excited for

Well there aren’t any. The thing is I don’t really follow the new releases. Sometimes I stumble upon something on goodreads or a blog that talks about new books, but mostly I don’t know much of anything. So I couldn’t come up with a list so I’m gonna do a bit of cheating and compile a different list. But technically these are debuts for me right?

Top Ten books I really want to read this year.

Most of these have been sitting on my shelf or my TBR list for over a year.

These are in no particular order.

10. The Edge of Reason (Bridget Jones #2) By Helen Fielding

According to goodreads I have wanted to read this since October 2012. That’s a long time. Although I have no desire to read the 3rd book I am looking forward to this one. I thought the 1st one was cute and funny so that’s what I am expecting from this one.

9. Jubilee By Margaret Walker

This has been on my to read list since December of 2012. This is not going to be an easy read but I feel like it’s a necessary one. It’s the true story of a woman born to a white slave master and his slave. The author is a descendant of the woman, and she spent 30 years writing this book.  Slavery is a subject I’m really hoping to immerse myself in this year so Jubilee will fit in well.

8. The Black Rose By Tananarive Due

I have had this on my bookshelf for at least 3 years maybe more. It’s the story of Madame CJ walker America’s first black millionaire. Alex Hayley actually started this book but died before he could finish it. I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to get to it but this is the year!

7. The Ways of White Folks By Langston Hughes

This is one of those books that’s always been on my list to read. I mean it’s Langston Hughes so yeah.

6. Ain’t I a Woman : Black Women and Feminism By Bell Hooks

Bell Hooks…. That’s all

5. Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe By Fannie Flagg

I have some problems with the film but I still love it. Of course that means I want to read the book. I expect it to be good so fingers crossed.

4. The Women of Brewster Place By Gloria Naylor

I really just want to read anything by Naylor but I think I should start here.

3.  Notes of a Native Son By James Baldwin

Baldwin is one of those authors I think everyone should read once in there life. Notes is probably his most famous work, but eventually I want to work my way through all of his work. Baldwin also fits in perfectly with the Harlem Renaissance challenge I’m participating in.

2. Noughts and Crosses By Malorie Blackman

I’ve had a rocky relationship with dystopian books both adult and YA, but I want to try some more. I feel like I just need to find the right one and maybe this is it.

1. Roots : The Saga of an American Family By Alex Hayley

This is a recent addition to the list. I’m not really sure I will be able to get through this book but I’m going to give it a go. It’s also a whopper at about 730 pages so it’s going to take some time to get through.

Well what are the debuts you are looking forward to? Any books you must read this year?

Until Next Time

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Your list gave me a ton of reading material. I LOVE Sula and just the fact that it’s your picture on here made me want to pick up your entire list.

    Like

Leave a Reply

