discussion

Reading Challenges Can Be Challenging

So like so many other people I started out 2013 with a whole bunch of reading goals I wanted to accomplish. Long story short I failed. So let’s just take these in the order I first wrote them down

1.The Clutch list of 100 black women authors to read.

I wanted to read as many of these books as possible but, some don’t appeal to me so I have no problem leaving them out.I ended up reading a total of 9. I thoroughly enjoyed every book I read in fact 7 of them ended up on my favorite books of the year list. I highly recommend you check out the list it has so much to offer anyone should be able to find something for them.  There were 2 real stand outs from the list that I want to mention. These are 2 books that are now on my list of favorite books of all time.  Sister Citizen By Melissa Harris-Perry and Their Eyes Were Watching God By Zora Neale Hurston

2.Jane Austen challenge that wasn’t exactly a challenge. 

Anyone who knows me even for just a little while knows I love Pride and Prejudice the movie, and the book. I realized this year that part of that love is nostalgic in nature and wasn’t necessarily going to translate to all of  Austens other work like I thought it would.  I decided 2013 was the year I read all of her work (I read Sense and Sensibility a few years ago) that I hadn’t gotten to yet.  I got through Northanger Abbey and Mansfield Park and well I didn’t love them like I thought I would. I really think I read them to late which as it turns out, is a theme for me this year.  I wish I had read these when I was in my late teens early twenties I think I would have loved them. I’m not saying people in their 30’s don’t love Austen but I am just not in the right space for her right now. I own all her books so I will eventually read them but I don’t know when.

3. Read in a more thoughtful way

This one I nailed on the head no 2 ways about it!!  I realized sometime in 2012 that I was just reading stuff. Mostly crime thrillers which I still love but some of them were trash. I stopped and thought why am I reading these? I don’t particularly enjoy them and I’m not getting anything out of them so, I stopped. I decided to have some intent behind more of the books I read. To read things that would teach me something or let me see something I had never seen before. I really feel like this was the best reading year of my life. A couple books literally changed me in a good way! I can’t wait to continue on in this way from now on. However I still love love my cozies,mystery, and crime thrillers and I will never give them up!! I also have a real affinity for the dreaded “chick lit” although I loathe that name!

4. The BBC Big Read

I stumbled upon this list late 2012 and thought some of theses books have been on my TBR for years so, let’s give it a go. I had already read 8 of the books on the list and I managed to read 1 more this year. To Kill a Mockingbird . I liked it but I had issues with it that I won’t go into now. Although I won’t be actively pursuing this list anymore there are at least 5 other books on this list I want to read sometime.

5. Read 80 books (60 physical/e-books 20 audio)

Long story short I read 71 books,42 were physical or e-book and 29 audio.  Those 29 aren’t taking into account the books I re-read/re-listened? to . 2013 was the first year I actually kept track of every book I read in the entire year. If I count all the audio books then I ended up reading/listening to 90 books this year. FYI I am in the group that counts audio books as books read.

6.Read All the Physical books I own!

FAIL! Not only did I not even come close I bought a grip more so yeah..

7. Finish the Anne of Green Gables Series

Oh Man I just thought I was going to LOVE these books and I so did not. I actually think I missed the window on them. I should have read them as a little girl. I have only read the first 2 and, I think I’m shelving these for now. I will probably pick hem up as soon as my niece is old enough to be be into these and read them with her. I think

8.Re-read 3 Series

I sort of accomplished this. I completed re-reading the entire Kinsey Milhone series by Sue Grafton and am now waiting on the newest book at my library. I read several of the Agatha Raisin series by M.C Beaton and The Goldy Bear series by Diane Mott-Davidson. These are some of my go-to feel good fun cozy/mysteries and I always listen to them in audio format.

So those were my 2013 goals some were met some weren’t. I am not really someone who freaks out if I don’t accomplish reading goals so I’m good. Like I said before this was the best reading year so I can’t really be to hurt about a few  goals that didn’t get accomplished. I do have some for 2014 and that will be in an upcoming post.

Did you set any goals for 2013 and if so did you meet them?

Until Next Year

One thought on “Reading Challenges Can Be Challenging

Leave a Reply

