MEME · WWW Wednesday

W.W.W Wednesday

www_wednesdays4

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…


• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

This meme was created by  Mizb over at Should Be Reading

  • What are you currently reading? I am as usual in the middle of 3 books, I can never read just one book at a time.

When Death Comes Stealing By Valerie Wilson Wesley

800943

Tamara Hayle, former cop turned PI, is a single mom trying to make it on her own on the mean streets of Newark. When her “dog” of an ex-husband, the father of her son, shows up like a bad penny, she can’t turn down his plea for help. For no apparent reason, somebody is killing his sons, one by one, and the police are less than concerned about it: Black men killing one another, nobody seems to give a damn. It’s up to Tamara to find the killer – before death comes stealing her only child. Valerie Wilson Wesley has created a smart, sexy, knowing heroine unlike any readers have met before. With wry humor and a keen sense of urban life, Wesley imbues Tamara Hayle with the true grit and feminine wiles that make her an enduring character, whom readers will love discovering, and whose next appearance they will eagerly await. (synopsis from goodreads)

Sula By Toni Morrison

11346

In clear, dark, resonant language, Toni Morrison brilliantly evokes not only a bond between two lives, but the harsh, loveless, ultimately mad world in which that bond is destroyed, the world of the Bottom and its people, through forty years, up to the time of their bewildered realization that even more than they feared Sula, their pariah, they needed her. (synopsis from goodreads)

Devil In A Blue Dress By Water Mosley (Easy Rawlins #1)

37100

Los Angeles, 1948: Easy Rawlins is a black war veteran just fired from his job at a defense plant. Easy is drinking in a friend’s bar, wondering how he’ll meet his mortgage, when a white man in a linen suit walks in, offering good money if Easy will simply locate Miss Daphne Money, a blonde beauty known to frequent black jazz clubs…. (synopsis from goodreads)

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I recently finished The Princess Bride By William Goldman which was a bit of a disappointment. There were parts that I really liked but nothing I loved. This is one of those cases where the movie was better than the book.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?  I have so many to choose from and that I am anxious to read. These are just a few that I might read next.

Half of  A Yellow Sun By Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

18749

With astonishing empathy and the effortless grace of a natural storyteller, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie weaves together the lives of three characters swept up in the turbulence of the decade. Thirteen-year-old Ugwu is employed as a houseboy for a university professor full of revolutionary zeal. Olanna is the professor’s beautiful mistress, who has abandoned her life of privilege in Lagos for a dusty university town and the charisma of her new lover. And Richard is a shy young Englishman in thrall to Olanna’s twin sister, an enigmatic figure who refuses to belong to anyone. As Nigerian troops advance and the three must run for their lives, their ideals are severely tested, as are their loyalties to one another. (synopsis from goodreads)    

Precious By Precious Williams

15747280

Where are you from?’ is a question I always find hard to answer. 1971: an ad in Nursery World. ‘Private foster parents required for a three-month-old baby’ – me. The lucky applicants are a 57-year-old white woman and her daughter, who love babies, especially black babies. My mother arrives, a haughty Nigerian woman in a convertible with a moses basket on the seat beside her, setting the net curtains in this all-white council estate twitching. And though the whole place makes my privileged mother’s skin crawl, she returns to London with an empty basket beside her, choosing this home for me because, unusually for the estate, my foster mother talks proper, and I’ll need a posh white accent for the bright future I have ahead of me. I’ll cling on to that idea – that I’ve a bright future ahead of me – even though there’s nothing in my upbringing to warrant it. Even though my mother’s love consists of long absences, confusing behaviour and dauntingly high expectations. Even though my foster mother’s love is overwhelming and suffocating. Even though I seem to be a magnet for abusive sexual attention from men I barely know. Even though the authorities have no idea where to put me or where I belong, and nor, really, do I. And even when I fall pregnant at eighteen and find myself back in the rural town I’d tried to escape from, with a tiny baby dependent on me, I still think the future’s out there. I’ll find it, whatever it takes. “Precious” is the story of growing up black in a white community, of struggling to find an identity that fits amid conflicting messages, of deciphering a childhood full of secrets and dysfunction. Painfully honest, swerving from farce to tragedy, “Precious” has a spirit that refuses to be crushed.(synopsis from goodreads)

Men We Reaped By Jesmyn Ward

17286683

In five years, Jesmyn Ward lost five young men in her life—to drugs, accidents, suicide, and the bad luck that can follow people who live in poverty, particularly black men. Dealing with these losses, one after another, made Jesmyn ask the question: Why? And as she began to write about the experience of living through all the dying, she realized the truth—and it took her breath away. Her brother and her friends all died because of who they were and where they were from, because they lived with a history of racism and economic struggle that fostered drug addiction and the dissolution of family and relationships. Jesmyn says the answer was so obvious she felt stupid for not seeing it. But it nagged at her until she knew she had to write about her community, to write their stories and her own. (synopsis from goodreads)

So that’s what I’ve got going on what are you reading this week?

Until Next Time

5 thoughts on “W.W.W Wednesday

Leave a Reply

