Uncategorized

Books To End The Year With

At the beginning of the year I set out to complete several bookish challenges including of course the Goodreads challenge.  My personal  goal was to read 80 books, 60 physical or e-books, and 20 audio books. A couple weeks ago I did this post about the top ten books on my fall TBR, and this post is the other group of books I want to read this year. I am not usually a TBR kind of person but some of these books have either been on my shelf or my mind for a while. So without further ado here we go. These are in no particular order

When Death Comes Stealing By Valerie Wilson Wesley.  I love female detectives, and the fact that this book features a black woman meant I had to have it.  Black woman as the lead in a thriller/murder mystery/detective novel is a very rare thing indeed. I will definitely be reading this book before the end of the year.800943

Tamara Hayle, former cop turned PI, is a single mom trying to make it on her own on the mean streets of Newark. When her “dog” of an ex-husband, the father of her son, shows up like a bad penny, she can’t turn down his plea for help. For no apparent reason, somebody is killing his sons, one by one, and the police are less than concerned about it: Black men killing one another, nobody seems to give a damn. It’s up to Tamara to find the killer – before death comes stealing her only child. Valerie Wilson Wesley has created a smart, sexy, knowing heroine unlike any readers have met before. With wry humor and a keen sense of urban life, Wesley imbues Tamara Hayle with the true grit and feminine wiles that make her an enduring character, whom readers will love discovering, and whose next appearance they will eagerly await. (synopsis from goodreads)

The Eyre Affair By Jasper Fforde I actually intended to read this after I finished Jane Eyre because of spoilers but I never finished Jane Eyre. I finally realized I was never going to finish Jane Eyre but, I still really want to read the Eyre Affair.

27003

Welcome to a surreal version of Great Britain, circa 1985, where time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem, militant Baconians heckle performances of Hamlet, and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection, until someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature. When Jane Eyre is plucked from the pages of Brontë’s novel, Thursday must track down the villain and enter the novel herself to avert a heinous act of literary homicide. (synopsis from goodreads)

Brideshead Revisited By Evelyn Waugh This would be my first Waugh and I am not entirely sure why I got it.  It sounds a tad depressing but I have heard good things from people whose opinion I trust.

30933

The most nostalgic and reflective of Evelyn Waugh’s novels, Brideshead Revisited looks back to the golden age before the Second World War. It tells the story of Charles Ryder’s infatuation with the Marchmains and the rapidly-disappearing world of privilege they inhabit. Enchanted first by Sebastian at Oxford, then by his doomed Catholic family, in particular his remote sister, Julia, Charles comes finally to recognize only his spiritual and social distance from them. (synopsis from goodreads)

Sula By Toni Morrison

Over Her Dead Body By Kate White

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict

Compromising Positions By

Come Hell Or Highwayer By Michael Eric Dyson

Leave a Reply

