It's Monday What Are You Reading · MEME

It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

34

It’s Monday What Are You Reading? Is a meme created by Sheila over at the Book Journey. Basically we just do a bit of an update about what we have done over the past week and, what we are reading this coming week.  Head over to The Book Journey to see what Sheila and all the other participants are up to.

Last week was a bit busy here on the my blog I did 4 book reviews

32 Candles By Ernessa T Carter which I really loved.

Lean In By Sheryl Sandberg which I did not love so much

  A Raisin in the Sun and To Be Young, Gifted and Black  by Lorraine Hansberry who I am pretty sure was one of the best playwrights that ever walked the earth.

I also participated in Top Ten Tuesday where I discussed books I think would make great movie

Last week I finished 2 books Lean In By Sheryl Sandberg which like I already said I didn’t love. click the title for goodreads

I also finished The Beautiful Mystery By Louise Penny. This is the 8th book in the Armand Gamache series. This is a series about Chief Inspector Gamache and usually takes place in a small town in Canada called Three Pines near Quebec. This book is one of only a couple that takes place in an alternate location. Armand Gamache is arguably one of my favorite male characters of all time. I wish they made them like him in real life. Aside from that the mystery aspect of these novels is so great. They are more than just your run of the mill mystery plots, they are incredibly psychological and often involve lots of different layers. I love to listen to these in audiobook format because the narrator is spectacular.

I am currently in the middle of 4 books

  •  The Princess Bride By William Goldman and to be honest I assumed (you know what they say about people who assume) I would be much more enthusiastic about it than I am. I just expected to be swept up from the jump and I’m not but I am gonna keep plugging along and hope it’s just s slow start.
  • Sula By Toni Morrison this one is really good but I misplaced it for a few days so I moved onto something else.  Sula isn’t very long so this should be done in the next couple days.
  • Chasing Paris By Jen Carter I got this one as a free book on Amazon Prime. I only have the free 1 month subscription which ends on October 3rd so this is the priority. It’s not very long and so far it’s been interesting.
  • Death Benefit By Robin Cook I have a thing for medical thrillers and Cook is one of my go to’s. I never actually read these I listen to them in audiobook format. I happen to love the narrator of this one to which is a major component when it comes to audiobooks.

So that’s what my reading week looks like what’s on your agenda?

Until Next Time

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday What Are You Reading?

  1. You had a good week. I am a “one book at a time” reader. I get confused when I try to read more at once. Come see what I read last week here. Have a great week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

