top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Or as I like to call it making a list of books whilst I watch Dancing with the stars!

What’s Top Ten Tuesday you ask? Well it’s this  meme created by the lovely  ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. They provide a bookish theme and we construct a list to go with it.  This week’s theme is

Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

The thing is when I read books in a series it’s a really big series, sometimes 10+.  I can only think of a few trilogies or series with 2 or 4 books that I have read. I often find myself reading the first book in a trilogy or short series and then I never go back for the rest. I can’t explain why this is but it its a thing that I do. So I really couldn’t do this top ten topic since I would only have 1 book. FYI that book would be Catching Fire by Susan Collins which was my favorite book in the Hunger Games trilogy.

So I looked through the list of Top Tens that I missed while I was on vacation and decided to do

Top Ten Books I Would Love To See As A Movie/TV Show

I’m not sure if this is allowed but I’m a rebel( not really) so here goes

These are in no particular order

10. 32 Candles By Ernessa T. Carter

I just did a review of this book you can read it here and I really loved it. This is like Sixteen Candles the movie but with poor/black people problems. Even though it has sad and dark moments it has enough lightness to temper that. As long as they don’t let Tyler Perry melodrama this out it could be great.

9. Kindred By Octavia Butler

Come on people why isn’t this a movie already? In the right hands it could be so awesome. Who do I need to talk to about getting this thing done?

8. The Warmth of Other Suns By Isabel Wilkerson

This would really need to be a miniseries a-la Roots in order to get the full impact. Warmth of Other Suns covers a piece of U.S history that is rarely ever talked about and that is the great migration. I know none of my history teachers ever even vaguely touched upon it, I imagine most people’s teachers didn’t.  I think it would be an amazing thing to see this brought to life. Warmth is non-fiction  but written in a sort of fictional style so it lends itself to film.

7. Silver Sparrow By Tayari Jones

I think this could actually be as good as the book assuming the right person is at the wheel. If they did make this a movie I would want  it to end just a bit differently but that’s just me.

6. The Girl Who Fell From The Sky By Heidi W. Durrow

This was a real heart-breaker  which is the exact reason it would make such a great movie! I actually think it might translate better on the big screen then in book form.

5. Social Crimes By Jane Stanton Hitchcock

This is a juicy drama about insufferable wealthy people who treat each other in the most vile manner and yet it was so good. Catherine Zeta-Jones would be so great as the main character Jo Slater and Isla Fisher as her nemesis!

4. Palace Council By Stephen L. Carter

This was a good book if a bit long winded. I think it could probably have been cut by a 100 pages and been just as good maybe even better. Having said that I still really liked it and it is set in one of my favorite time periods the Harlem Renaissance. It could be a miniseries as well but I think they could cut some unnecessary stuff and make it fit for the big screen.

3.  Remember Me? By Sophie Kinsella

I have recently become a fan of Kinsella she is quite funny. I think this could be great on film as long as they don’t set it in the U.S like Shopaholic. Don’t get me wrong I really like Shopaholic but Remember Me wouldn’t be as great without the right setting.

2. The Agatha Raisin Series By M.C Beaton

I really love reading and watching female detective stories. They can be actual detective, police officers, or amateurs it doesn’t really matter. Agatha Raisin is an amateur and she’s British which just makes it even better. This would arguably need to be a T.V. series ideally done in England with an English cast.

1. Long Distance Life By Marita Golden

This is the second book on the list to deal with the great migration. This is a a fictional story that centers on one family as they go from the great migration through the civil rights movement and, right into the “war on drugs” era. It’s another sad one but it could be so good on film.

 So those are my choices for book to film/T.V. adaptations. What are some of your picks?

Please share your Top Ten Sequels as well.

Until Next Time

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Remember Me isn’t a sequel. I decided not to do sequels for my top ten because the only series I read are really long and I don’t really have favorites. I decided to do books I wanted to see made into movies instead! Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

