Austen In August · Uncategorized

Austen In August

AIAmockup1-002

When I was 14 or 15 a good friend of my moms invited us over for dinner and a movie. That movie was Pride and Prejudice the 1995 BBC miniseries. I was immediately hooked. I loved every single thing about it and it’s my favorite adaptation to this day.   I would go on to watch Sense and Sensibility starring Kate Winslet and Emma Thompson which also came out in 1995 and, which I loved.  And then a year later I of course would go to see Emma starring Gwyneth Paltrow and of course I loved it as well. Eventually I would see at least one version of every Jane Austen adaptation except for Persuasion The thing is I have only read 2 Austen books in my life. Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility of which I loved both. About 2 years ago I started Emma and then lost it in a move and never replaced it.  So being that I have only read 2 of her books do I still get to count myself as a Jane Austen fan? I think so! I do own all Austens books except Emma which I haven’t replaced yet. Right now I am currently reading Northanger Abbey and while I am finding it enjoyable, it is taking me a long time to read it. I started it months ago and just keep putting it down in favor of other things. I finally downloaded the audio version so that I can listen to it while doing other things and then pick the book back up when I feel like reading the physical copy. I am hoping to finish in the next week. I will also be participating in the read along that Misty at The Book Rat is hosting.  So hopefully by September I will have 2 more Jane Austen books under my belt and, by the end of the year I would love to have read them all.  If you would like to participate in Austen in August click the button above and find out what you need to know.

Until Next Time

3 thoughts on “Austen In August

Leave a Reply

