discussion · top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish.

This weeks top ten is

Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

Here they are in no particular order

10. Harlem Renaissance

In the crazy fantasy world I keep up in my brain I think it would have been awesome to have been alive during this era. I can just imagine hanging out with Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston and Marcus Garvey discussing the social issues of the time. Listening to Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald and,Nat King Cole while sipping bootleg beer. I understand that what I have in my mind is a romanticized version of what really happened but I just can’t help it.

9.  Female Detectives

I love female detectives. Old, young, british, american, police detectives, amateur detectives I love them all. I will try out a book even without knowing much about it if it mentions a female detective.

8.  Female Lawyers

If there is anything I love more than female detectives its female lawyers. Just like with the detectives I love all kinds of lawyers,except for amateur since there is no such thing as an amateur lawyer.

7.  Cozies

Anything classified as a cozy is probably something I am going to at least look at. Cozies are great for times when I have just finished a book with a sad or tough topic.  They are like a palet cleanser

6.  Deep dark family secrets

I love me some family secrets. The deeper and darker the better.

5. The great migration

This is a subject that I have only just gotten into and I am hooked. It’s a sad time in history so it can be a bit heavy (which is where the cozies come in) It’s also a subject that isn’t really covered in history class at least not where I am from. I feel like there is so much to be learned and I could read about it forever and not even scratch the surface.

4. Fashion

I love fashion magazines so it stands to reason that I would love to read books about fashion. This can take the form of a book like the Devil Wears Prada a fiction book that centers around fashion. It can also take the form of a book from someone like Victoria Beckham,. Rachel Zoe, or Tim Gunn where they talk about all things fashion.  Bottom line if it even looks like it might have something to do with fashion I am going to give it a look.

3. Anything to do with being a makeup artist or hairstylist

I feel the same way about makeup and beauty related topics as I do about fashion. I will read fictional books about makeup artists or beauty salons or real books by makeup artists.

2.  Food

If a book revolves around someone who owns a bakery, coffee shop, or is a chef I am in. I will probably read the book even if it seems cheesy. I especially love it if the recipes for the foods mentioned are in the book. I have actually made quite a few things from a few of the series I read.

1. Medical conspiracies/Pandemics and Epidemics

I love books with conspiracies anyway and, when they are in the medical field I love it more. Stories with crazy corrupt doctors and corporations doing creepy medical experiments I’m in. Anything to do with releasing a super bug and creating an epidemic or pandemic yes please.

Alright that’s it for this weeks Top Ten Tuesday

Until Next Time

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great list! I definitely like cozies – they are the only kind of mystery I like to read because I’m too impatient to wait to the end in a real mystery/suspense; I always flip to the end for the answer/reveal 🙂 I, too, love a deep dark family secret, but it’s got to be good/actually needed to be a secret. I hate it when the secret turns out to be lame/didn’t really need to be a secret! 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh I agree. I hate when I get to the end find out the secret and it’s lame. I feel like I have wasted time I could have been reading something good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

